Young Conservatives of Texas Statement on 2020 Election Results

Press Releases / November 12, 2020

Jonah Wendt
Communications Director
Young Conservatives of Texas
[email protected]           


Thursday, November 12, 2020

Fort Worth, TX — The Young Conservatives of Texas (YCT) issue the following statement on the results of the 2020 election in Texas:

“Despite the mainstream media’s doom and gloom fantasies for a Blue Texas, patriotic Texans answered the call and supported conservative candidates throughout the state. Conservatives up and down the ballot were victorious on Tuesday night despite millions of dollars flooding in from out-of-state liberals including millions of dollars from Michael Bloomberg.

We were most excited to see Rep. Chip Roy (TX-21) retire Wendy Davis for the last time as he shellacked her by almost 7 points. Every conservative member of the Texas Congressional delegation won by a wide margin.

Congratulations to YCT’s highest-rated representatives – Briscoe Cain (HD-128), Mayes Middleton (HD-23), and Tony Tinderholt (HD-94) – who will return to the Texas House to spearhead the conservative agenda under the Dome. 

Additionally, we would like to offer the strongest congratulations to DFW conservatives – Tony Tinderholt (HD-94), Matt Krause (HD-93), and Jeff Cason (HD-92) – who fought back the Blue Wave that was nowhere to be found. We’d also like to offer the warmest welcome to Bryan Slaton (HD-2), Lacey Hull (HD-138), Shelby Slawson (HD-59), and Cody Vasut (HD-25) as they head to Austin for their first terms.

Last Tuesday’s election results proved that conservatives win when they lead and unapologetically stand up for their conservative values. Not a single incumbent conservative lost elected office. We look forward to electing more conservatives in 2022.”

     – Manfred Wendt, Executive Director of the Young Conservatives of Texas.