BREAKING: YCT Releases 3rd Round of Endorsements

Press Releases / January 10, 2018


January 10, 2018

Contact: William Dominguez, Senior Vice Chairman
Email: [email protected]

Austin, TX — Today, Young Conservatives of Texas (YCT) announced its third set of endorsements for the 2018 Republican Primary.

The endorsements announced today were for four State Representatives and three State Senators based on their high scores on YCT’s Legislative Ratings and their actions within the Legislature.

Rep. Dustin Burrows (HD 83)
Rep. Mike Schofield  (HD 132)
Rep. Scott Sanford (HD 70)
Rep. Dennis Paul (HD 129)
Sen. Donna Campbell (SD 25)
Sen. Charles Schwertner (SD 5)
Sen. Paul Bettencourt (SD 7)

“On our scorecard, each scored a 80 or above, earning a spot on our honorable mention list, ” said Dominguez, YCT Senior Vice-Chairman. In addition to the seven incumbents who received an automatic endorsement today, we are proud to endorse the following candidates for the Texas House, one candidate for the Texas Senate and one Judicial Candidate:

Stuart Spitzer (HD 4)
Garrett Boersma (HD 9)
Emily K. Cook (HD 18)
Mayes Middleton (HD 23)
Damon Rambo (HD 25)
Jay Wiley (HD 47)
Mark Roy (HD 64)
Armin Mizani (HD 98)
Jared Patterson (HD 106)
Deanna Metzger (HD 107)
Jonathan Boos (HD 113)
Chris Fails (HD 122)
Reginald Grant Jr (HD 127)
Mike Canon (SD 31)
John Browning (5th Court of Appeals, Place 11)

“Each of these candidates have been thoroughly vetted and we believe they will serve our state conservatively in the Texas House,” said Dominguez. “We hope that the constituents in their districts will support them in the upcoming Republican Primary.”

Between now and the primary, YCT will continue to evaluate all filed candidates up and down the ballot and will release additional endorsements within the next few weeks. In case you missed our previous endorsements, please see below:

Rep. Cole Hefner (HD 5)
Rep. Matt Schaefer (HD 6)
Rep. Greg Bonnen (HD 24)
Rep. Mike Lang (HD 60)
Rep. Matt Shaheen (HD 66)
Rep. Jeff Leach (HD 67)
Rep. Kyle Biedermann (HD 73)
Rep. Jonathan Stickland (HD 92)
Rep. Matt Krause (HD 93)
Rep. Tony Tinderholt (HD 94)
Rep. Bill Zedler (HD 96)
Rep. Matt Rinaldi (HD 115)
Rep. Briscoe Cain (HD 128)
Rep. Valoree Swanson (HD 150)
Sen. Bob Hall (SD 2)
Sen. Kelly Hancock (SD 9)
Sen. Konni Burton (SD 10)
Sen. Don Huffines (SD 16)
Sen. Brian Birdwell (SD 22)
Sen. Dawn Buckingham (SD 24)
Rep. Pat Fallon (SD 30)

Governor Greg Abbott
Lieutenant Governor Dan Patrick
Attorney General Ken Paxton
Comptroller Glenn Hegar
Railroad Commissioner Christi Craddick
Donna Davidson, Third Court of Appeals, Place 6

Young Conservatives of Texas is a non-partisan organization that has promoted conservatism at universities across the Lone Star State for over three decades. The State’s most active political youth organization, YCT is composed of hundreds of members and alumni who participate in the full spectrum of politics. YCT issues the most respected ratings of the Texas legislature and is the only conservative group to have done so without interruption over the past 22 legislative sessions. For more information about YCT, please visit